Drawing Birds

Hungry Bluejay

Frankenbird

In the last few years, I’ve turned into an amateur birder while watching Tom practice his wildlife photography. I’ve spent many happy hours observing birds this way and learning about them from books and photos. I made this drawing using my own photographs for reference. For the record, I’m not a talented photographer – I lack the patience to learn about the equipment, etc. Managing to combine all of my flawed photos as references and then understanding just enough about bird anatomy to eliminate the flaws in my drawing, is my method for this madness. I used a mixed media approach for this drawing. It’s graphite and colored pencil on vellum bristol and measures approx. 11×14. Tom and I refer to this drawing as ‘Frankenbird’ because of the multiple photo references. I hope Frankenbird will appeal to Bluejay lovers and birders alike.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment